Not Go-Getter…GO-GIVER

March 23, 2011

In every encounter and every situation, think about ways you can help. And think of it in terms that do not directly benefit you. I read a book a while ago called The Go Giver by Bob Burg and John David Mann.  This book was given to me as a gift from one of my mentors.  It is a short read, but it delivered such a profound message about how we should stop working for ourselves and begin working for the benefit of others.  In fact, this book delivers a method to begin doing just that.  I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone, not just job seekers.

As a result of reading this book, I was able to reflect on my approach with my students, clients, family, and friends.  I have now given this book as a gift to many professionals and friends to aid in the development of their own professionalism and business perspective. Remember: it is through service to others that we find fulfillment and happiness.

SC

10 Responses to “Not Go-Getter…GO-GIVER”

  1. Justin Martin Says:

    It sounds like Service Marketing wins, once again. Dr. Berry in the marketing department would be very happy to see more posts like this in any blog, journal, or book. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Bob Burg Says:

    Stacey, thank you for your very kind post about John David Mann’s and my book. What a great honor to know you felt it provided value worth sharing. Much thanks!!

    • staceycole Says:

      Hi Bob,
      Yes, one of my wonderful mentors, Dr. Tim Peterson, highly promoted this book a couple of years back and he/we often used it as thank-you gifts to our industry professionals and students within our business programs here at Mays. In fact, John David Mann met us in New York a few years ago and spoke with our students about the motivation behind the book. It was such an honor to be able to visit with him and the students really enjoyed the presentation. Thanks for your reply, and maybe someday we can sweet talk you and John into visiting Texas A&M. *wink* *wink*

      Best,

      Stacey

  3. Bob Burg Says:

    Hi Stacey, yes, I remember John mentioning that, and that he enjoyed meeting you, Dr. Peterson and the students very much. He lives in Western Mass and I believe he and Ana made the drive over. I’m happy to visit Texas A&M whenever I’m in the area speaking at a corporate event. I love in FL but speak in Texas often. Which great city in the great state of Texas are you located in? Feel free to email me at bob@burg.com and let me know, and we’ll make sure and connect next time I’m there.

    • Tim Peterson Says:

      Bob,

      Stacy is a jewel. I was fortunate enough to have here work with me for about two years. I only wish i still had the opportunity to work with her.

      John was gracious enough to come over to New York city twice. First to talk to my students at Texas A&M and then to talk to my students at North Dakota State University. This year I could not find a space to have a presentation in New York. Hotel conference rooms are outside of my budget but I will try to work this for 2012. When I can, all the students going to New York read Go Givers.

      Yours in all good causes — big and small,
      Tim

      • Bob Burg Says:

        Tim, thank you for your response. Just seeing it now; my apologies for the delay. Thank you for being such a great ambassador of the book and its message.

  4. staceycole Says:

    We are in College Station, TX which is a college town about an hour and a half outside of Houston. I would love to see if we can get you in front of our students in the future. I will definitely keep in touch via your e-mail contact. Thanks so much Bob and I look forward to connecting.

    Best,

    Stacey

  5. dctamu12 Says:

    Sounds like a great book. I will have to read that!

  6. Bob Burg Says:

    Stacey, thank you. I’ll very much look forward to that.


Leave a Reply

