Best Advice Comes from Grandparents

July 13, 2010

I just returned from the Page Family reunion in Ohio this past weekend. I’m just going to say it, “I love my family.”  While my grandparents from both sides of my family have passed on now, each side (Page andFlournoy) still gets together as often as possible.  It’s a true honor to my grandparents. 

While spending time with my Ohio family this weekend, I couldn’t help but remember all of my amazing memories of Vinnie and James Page.  To raise their six children, both of my grandparents worked outside of the home.   My grandmother earned her paycheck as a cook for several years while my grandfather spent his life working in the West Virginia coal mines and then at the Ohio Reformatory (watch The Shawshank Redemption to get a look at the place). 

They worked hard and with an amazing work ethic while at work and home.  These two people never had to take a class on ethics.  It was instilled in their souls.   Their work ethic throughout both of their lives was superior to say the very least.  I remember my grandpa telling me once that no matter what job I was given to do, do it right and do it with pride.  That’s a simple statement, but it’s probably one of the most impactful in my life. 

I challenge all of  us whether we are entering the workforce for the first time, re-entering after returning to school or just plain in the middle of your career to read that statement and apply  it to your life and career.  Whatever job you are given to do, do it right and do it with pride.  Take pride in every job you are given.  Never job is too small. 

Thank you Grandma and Grandpa for your words of wisdom.

~Cindy

One Response to “Best Advice Comes from Grandparents”

  1. jon page Says:

    I have the same work ethic as Grandpa Page. It has given me a good reputation, and it’s one of the things I’m proud of most. 🙂


Leave a comment